Amendments and Janet

When I was 10 years old, I went to St James and St Christopher’s Church, Shiregreen. Stan and Henry had been wardens for generations, and George had replaced Henry. When the time came for Stan to be replaced, Janet stood for election. I had heard several men offering the opinion that it was not right for a woman to be a Churchwarden. Being brave and foolish, I offered this opinion to Janet myself. Janet completed disarmed me. She bent down, hugged me and planted a great big smacker on my lips. I am not sure what child protection policies this would breach today, but my older less brave male worshippers duly observed what had happened; and Janet served as Warden for several years. As far as I know, she did the job in an exemplary way.

When I was training for ordination. I spent lots of time on placement. I worked alongside a woman incumbent. I remember vividly in September 2000, going into school, and being introduced as “Kevin, and he is training to be a vicar”. This was met with some incredulity by an eight year old girl; as pricelessly she said, ‘but he is a man’. In her limited experience, all this girl had known was Hilary the Vicar.

The Church of England General Synod has the opportunity in July 2012 to proceed with the consecration of women priests as bishops. I am a simple theologian really; and it seems to me that a priest can be a bishop if that priest is called to be a bishop. Whilst it is politically understandable why a previous Synod did not choose to say women could be bishops as well as priests, it is a theological nonsense.

General Synod should pass the Measure overwhelmingly. It has the support of the Dioceses of the Church of England. The stumbling block seems to be an amendment passed by the House of Bishops. In a nutshell this amendment seems to suggest that those opposed to the consecration of women priests as bishops can request that a male bishop who shares their theological objections can have oversight over their parish.

I do have sympathy with those who cannot in conscience accept the ordained ministry of women. I have particular concern for those ordained prior to the decision to ordain women as priests. I simply do not understand why the Church of England continues to ordain to the priesthood those who do not believe women can be ordained. There is theological breadth and generosity, which is gloriously Anglican – and creating a recipe for disaster. It is perfectly possible to allow people to remain as faithful Anglicans without the bells and whistles of legislation, and for there be graciousness for this to happen. There is no such thing as two integrities within the Church of England, which appears to suggest that there can be two churches in one. This was not the wording nor intention of the legislation. What there is, is one theological belief and the grace and space to allow folks to disagree with integrity.

I do not argue that women priests should be allowed to be bishops out of a concern for justice or equality; but because the essence of the Gospel is found in the ancient baptismal declaration: There is no Jew nor Greek…. male nor female….; all are one in Christ Jesus.

It is Christ who makes us all whole. Let us do this; and then get on with the important stuff of being a Church to the nation; otherwise that Janet might come after me again.

About 1urcher

Erratic Vicar
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment